Five trustees to be elected for School District 60

Five trustees will be elected October 20 to steer a $77.4-million organization responsible for educating 6,000 students in the North Peace.

Nicole Gilliss has been acclaimed trustee for Area 3 for the Hudson's Hope and Williston areas.

article continues below

Ida Campbell has been acclaimed trustee for Area 4 for the Taylor, Baldonnel, and Two Rivers areas.

Elections will take place for one trustee in Area 1 for the Cecil Lake, Goodlow, and Clayhurst areas; one trustee in Area 2 for Prespatou, Buick, and Montney areas, including Doig River and Blueberry River First Nations; and three trustees for Area 5 in Fort St. John.

Here's who has filed for a seat on the board of education:

Area 1

(One trustee to represent Cecil Lake, Goodlow and Clayhurst)

• Madeleine Lehmann. 

• Melanie Edwards.

Area 2

(One trustee to represent Prespatou, Buick, Rose Prairie, Doig River and Blueberry River First Nations, North Pine, Montney, and Wonowon east)

• David Scott-Moncrieff.

• David Christie. Christie is aboriginal education director at Northern Lights College.

Area 3

(One trustee to represent the District of Hudson’s Hope, Upper Cache, Tsay Keh Dene Nation, and Williston Lake)

• Nicole Gilliss. Gillis is a former Hudson's Hope councillor.

Area 4

(One trustee the District of Taylor, Baldonnel, and Two Rivers)

• Ida Campbell. Campbell is the long-time incumbent trustee for the area.

Area 5

(Three trustees to be elected for Fort St. John, the Upper Halfway, Halfway River First Nation, Wonowon west, Charlie Lake, Pink Mountain, and north to Mile 225 on the Alaska Highway)

• Darrell Pasichnyk. Pasichnyk is one of the three incumbents for the area.

• Helen Gilbert. Gilbert is former principal of CM Finch Elementary School.

• Erin Evans. Evans was acclaimed in the former Zone 2 area of Upper Pine/Prespatou in 2014, and is current board chair.

• Jeff Richert. Richert ran as an independent MLA in the 2017 provincial election. Richert is also an editorial columnist for the Alaska Highway News, and will not be writing for the duration of the election campaign. 

• Bill Snow. Snow is one of three incumbents for the area.

Election day is Oct. 20, with advanced voting on Oct. 10 and 17.

Email Managing Editor Matt Preprost at

© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus
Sign Up for our Newsletter!

Popular News

Lowest Gas Prices in Chetwynd, Dawson Creek, Fort Nelson, Fort St John, Tumbler Ridge
British Columbia Gas Prices provided by

Community Event Calendar

Find out what's happening in your community and submit your own local events.