Skip to content

Update: Civic Election ballots finalized around Northeast

Four municipal, two school board candidates exit races
Election ballot box

The list of candidates in next month’s municipal and school board elections has now been officially declared.

Candidates had from 4 p.m. Sept. 9 to 4 p.m. Friday (Sept. 16) to withdraw their names from the ballot.

Four municipal and two school board candidates decided to step aside prior to the second deadline - councillor nominees Timothy Walker and Joanne Kirby in Tumbler Ridge and Jeff Thompson in Northern Rockies, mayoral candidate Steven Haab in Fort St. John and trustee candidates, Jennifer Lalonde in Dawson Creek and Mike Gilbert in Fort Nelson.

There are now three names on the ballot for mayor in Fort St. John: Lilia Hansen, Steven Labossiere, and Shannon Stange.

A total of 10 are in the running for six seats as councillor: Trevor Bolin, Amy Cox, Lyle Goldie, Gord Klassen, Jim Lequiere, Sarah MacDougall, Gary Patara, Morgan Robinson, Byron Stewart, and Tony Zabinsky.

In Dawson Creek, it’ll be between Darcy Dober and Shaely Wilbur for mayor and 11 to choose from for councillor – Gregg Apolonio, April Cire Floriant, Jerimy Earl, Amy Kaempf, Sue Kenny, Kyle MacDonald, Johanna Martens, Charlie Parslow, Aaron Rogers, Michael Sudnik, and Raistlin van Spronsen.

In Chetwynd, voters will only be deciding on a mayor.

Alan Courtoreille will face Michael Warrington.

All six councillor seats were filled by acclamation.

Clay Bassendowski, Mel Deck, Kayla MacDonald, Julia Nelson, Andrea Smith, and Janet Wark will serve for the next four years.

In Taylor, residents will be choosing from a full slate.

Brent Taillefer and Peggy Alexander are the choices for mayor.

Betty Ponto, Michelle Turnbull, Desirae Graziano, Gord Davies, and Murray Giesbrecht will challenge for the four seats on council.

No changes from last Friday’s 4 p.m. nomination period deadline in Hudson’s Hope.

Reg Knox will take on Dave Heiberg for the mayor’s chair while 12 candidates will vie for the six seats as councillor – Debbie Beattie, Lynn Blythe, James Cryderman, Nicole Gilliss, Tina Jeffrey, Joe King, Kelly Miller, Conrad Northeast, Val Paice, Travous Quibell, Robin Stuber, and Tashana Winnicky.

It'll be either Rick Consalvi, Darryl Krakowka, or Don McPherson for mayor in Tumbler Ridge.

All three let their names stand from last week.

Seven names are on next month’s ballot for councillor – Luana Dusseault, Garret Golhof, Roxanne Gulick, Ron Hofman, Ken Klikach, Nicole Noksana, and Chris Norbury.

There are four challengers in Pouce Coupe for the mayor’s seat: Edmond Boyer, Lorraine Michetti, Bill Plowright, and Dani Veach.

Marlene Hebert, Raymond Johnston, Richard Mineault, Kurtis Rabel, Barb Smith, James Wall, and Marcel Woodill are all up for the four councillor positions.

And, in the Northern Rockies Regional Municipality, Gary Foster meets Rob Fraser in the mayoral showdown.

Nine names make up the list of those wanting to be councillor.

They are: Kyle Andrews, Leslie Dickie, Brenda Enax, Kanina Fulton, Lorraine Gerwing, Kristi Leer, Fred McLachlan, John Roper, and Danny Soles.

There will be two run-offs for area director in the Peace River Regional District.

Michael Fitzgerald, Jordan Kealy, and Jeff Kitt will square off in area B, while Suzanne Haab and Brad Sperling will do the same in area C.

Leonard Hiebert and Dan Rose were acclaimed in areas D and E, respectively.

In School District 60, there were four trustees returned without an election – Madeleine Lehmann in area 1, David Scott-Moncrieff in area 2, Nicole Gilliss in area 3, and Ida Campbell in area 4.

Three seats are up for grabs in area 5 (Fort St. John) between Helen Gilbert, Baptiste Marcere, Bill Snow, Raena Townsend, and Tom Whitton.

And, the ballot has been set for an election in area 3 (Dawson Creek) in School District 59 for two trustee seats.

Derek Nernberg, Lynnsy Noll, Angelina Schurmann, and Christina Wards are the choices.

Acclaimed in area 1 were Crystal Hillton and Sherry Mounsey.

Roxanne Gulick was unopposed in area 2.

Chad Anderson and Travis Jones return to represent area 4.

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks