Skip to content

Taylor chooses its new mayor

Brent Taillefer beats challenger Peggy Alexander in exciting race.
taillefer 2018 inauguration
Brent Taillefer

Brent Taillefer will become the new mayor for the District of Taylor in November after beating challenger Peggy Alexander 217-184.

A councillor with 11 years experience, Taillefer put his name forward when current mayor Rob Fraser announced his intention not to run.

"I'm glad we had an election for mayor, because people had a choice," said Taillefer.

"There should be elections, I believe that," in commending Alexander for stepping up.

For Taillefer, the first order of business will be to get two new councillors, Murray Giesbrecht and Desirae Graziano, the training and knowledge the job brings.

Among the mayor-elect's priorities: establishing more seniors housing spaces in the community and addressing the future of the recently-closed medical clinic.

The father of three young children also wants to ensure the seasonal pool, set up each May inside the curling club, is re-opened in 2023.

District of Taylor election results:


x - Brent Taillefer - 217
Peggy Alexander - 184


x - Betty Ponto - 322
x - Michelle Turnbull - 286
x - Murray Giesbrecht - 285
x - Desirae Graziano - 277
Gordon Davies - 222

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks