Skip to content

MP Bob Zimmer named to Conservative shadow cabinet

The Conservative party announced its shadow cabinet Friday, naming northeast B.C. MP Bob Zimmer as the federal critic for Northern Affairs and the Northern Economic Development Agency.
Canada's Bob Zimmer signs an agreed declaration of principles on disinformation and fake news at the beginning of a press conference in London on Tuesday. Eight different Parliaments from all over the world, known as the "International Grand Committee on Disinformation and Fake News," gathered for a special evidence session.

The Conservative party announced its shadow cabinet Friday, naming northeast B.C. MP Bob Zimmer as the federal critic for Northern Affairs and the Northern Economic Development Agency. 

"I was born and raised in the North and I look forward to continuing to be a strong advocate for Canada's northern communities with this new role, and holding the Liberal government to account on issues that affect Canadians living in these regions," Zimmer said in a statement.

Zimmer was first elected in 2011 in Prince George-Peace River-Northern Rockies, and returned to Ottawa for a third term in October's general election. In the last Parliament, he served as chair of the House of Commons committee on access to information, privacy, and ethics. He was also chair of the Parliamentary Outdoor Caucus and chair of the BC/Yukon Conservative Caucus.

MP Todd Doherty of Cariboo-Prince George was named the party's transport critic.

Parliament resumes Dec. 5.

The full shadow cabinet:

  • Ziad Aboultaif (Edmonton Manning, Alberta) – Digital Government

  • Dan Albas (Central Okanagan—Simillkameen—Nicola, British Columbia) – Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion

  • Mel Arnold (North Okanagan—Shuswap, British Columbia) – Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard

  • John Barlow (Foothills, Alberta) – Agriculture and Agri-Food

  • Michael Barrett (Leeds—Grenville—Thousand Islands and Rideau Lakes, Ontario) – Ethics

  • Luc Berthold (Mégantic—L’Érable, Quebec) – Infrastructure and Communities

  • James Bezan (Selkirk—Interlake—Eastman, Manitoba) – National Defence

  • Hon. Steven Blaney (Bellechasse—Les Etchemins—Lévis, Quebec) – Canadian Heritage

  • Kelly Block (Carlton Trail—Eagle Creek, Saskatchewan) – Public Services and Procurement

  • Colin Carrie (Oshawa, Ontario) – Canada/US Relations and Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario

  • Hon. Michael Chong (Wellington—Halton Hills, Ontario) – Democratic Institutions

  • James Cumming (Edmonton Centre, Alberta) – Small Business and Export Promotion

  • Raquel Dancho (Kildonan—St. Paul, Manitoba) – Diversity and Inclusion and Youth

  • Chris d’Entremont (West Nova, Nova Scotia) – Official Languages and Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency

  • Gérard Deltell (Louis-Saint-Laurent, Quebec) – Intergovernmental Affairs

  • Todd Doherty (Cariboo—Prince George, British Columbia) – Transport

  • Hon. Kerry-Lynne Findlay (South Surrey—White Rock, British Columbia) – Environment and Climate Change

  • Cheryl Gallant (Renfrew—Nipissing—Pembroke, Ontario) – Veterans Affairs (Associate) and Economic Development Initiative for Northern Ontario

  • Bernard Généreux (Montmagny—L’Islet—Kamouraska—Rivière-du-Loup, Quebec) – Rural Economic Development and Economic Development Agency of Canada for Regions of Quebec

  • Garnett Genuis (Sherwood Park—Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta) – Multiculturalism

  • Marilyn Gladu (Sarnia—Lambton, Ontario) – Health

  • Tracy Gray (Kelowna—Lake Country, British Columbia) – Interprovincial Trade

  • Randy Hoback (Prince Albert, Saskatchewan) – International Trade

  • Matt Jeneroux (Edmonton Riverbend, Alberta) – Infrastructure and Communities (Associate)

  • Pat Kelly (Calgary Rocky Ridge, Alberta) – Finance (Associate)

  • Hon. Peter Kent (Thornhill, Ontario) – Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship

  • Stephanie Kusie (Calgary Midnapore, Alberta) – Families, Children and Social Development

  • Hon. Mike Lake (Edmonton—Wetaskiwin, Alberta) – International Development

  • Richard Lehoux (Beauce, Quebec) – Agriculture and Agri-Food (Associate)

  • Richard Martel (Chicoutimi—Le Fjord, Quebec) – National Defence (Associate)

  • Phil McColeman (Brantford—Brant, Ontario) – Veterans Affairs

  • Cathy McLeod (Kamloops—Thompson—Cariboo, British Columbia) – Natural Resources (Forestry and Mining)

  • Hon. Rob Moore (Fundy Royal, New Brunswick) – Justice and Attorney General

  • Marty Morantz (Charleswood—St. James—Assiniboia—Headingley, Manitoba) – National Revenue

  • Glen Motz (Medicine Hat—Cardston—Warner, Alberta) – Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness (Associate)

  • Hon. Erin O’Toole (Durham, Ontario) – Foreign Affairs

  • Pierre Paul-Hus (Charlesbourg—Haute-Saint-Charles, Quebec) – Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness

  • Hon. Pierre Poilievre (Carleton, Ontario) – Finance and National Capital Commission

  • Hon. Michelle Rempel Garner (Calgary Nose Hill, Alberta) – Industry and Economic Development

  • Blake Richards (Banff—Airdrie, Alberta) – Tourism and Western Economic Diversification

  • Bob Saroya (Markham—Unionville, Ontario) – Queen’s Privy Council for Canada

  • Jamie Schmale (Haliburton—Kawartha Lakes—Brock, Ontario) – Crown-Indigenous Relations

  • Shannon Stubbs (Lakeland, Alberta) – Natural Resources

  • David Sweet (Flamborough—Glanbrook, Ontario) – International Human Rights and Religious Freedom

  • Hon. Tim Uppal (Edmonton Mill Woods, Alberta) – Treasury Board

  • Karen Vecchio (Elgin—Middlesex—London, Ontario) – Women and Gender Equality

  • Gary Vidal (Desnethé—Missinippi—Churchill River, Saskatchewan) – Indigenous Services

  • John Williamson (New Brunswick Southwest, New Brunswick) – Labour

  • Hon. Alice Wong (Richmond Centre, British Columbia) – Seniors

  • Bob Zimmer (Prince George—Peace River—Northern Rockies, British Columbia) – Northern Affairs and Northern Economic Development Agency

Email Managing Editor Matt Preprost at