Skip to content

How and where to vote in the federal election

Polls open Monday from 7 a.m.- 7 p.m.; voters required to go to their designated polling station

If you want to vote in Monday’s federal election and haven’t already done so in the advance polls, there’s only one way to do it now.

Show up at your assigned polling station with a valid piece of identification that shows your address between the hours of 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. on Monday.

Most registered voters will have already received voter identification card in the mail which will direct you where to go. Polling stations correspond to postal codes and you must go to your designated station. That’s to avoid the possibility of voters filling out ballots more than once.

To find out where to vote, go to the Elections Canada website at After clicking on the Where To Vote box, the site will ask you to input your postal code or street address. Once you do that, the correct polling station address will appear.

For voters who do not have a computer, Elections Canada returning offices can be reached by phone and staff will direct you to the correct polling station. The returning office can also find out if you are a registered voter. If not, that can be done at the polling station, provided the proper government-issued identification is shown.

In Prince George-Peace River-Northern Rockies, call 1-866-546-7616.

To register to vote you must be a Canadian citizen, be at least 18-years of age on election day and prove your identity and address.

Unlike the provincial election in May, there is no curbside voting in the federal election for handicapped voters or people with mobility issues. In the provincial election, a team would bring out a ballot box right to the person’s vehicle, but that service is not available on Monday.

In Prince George-Peace River-Northern Rockies, there are seven candidates, including incumbent Bob Zimmer, Conservative; Ryan Dyck, People’s Party of Canada; Phil Hewkin, Canada’s Fourth Front; David Jeffers, Maverick Party; Catharine Kendall, Green Party; and Cory Longley, New Democratic Party.