Date set to choose B.C. Liberal party candidate for Peace River North

The date for the Peace River North Candidate Selection Meeting has been set for May 7, at which time members of the BC Liberal Party can cast their vote for who they want to represent Peace River North in the next provincial election.

In the running is Fort St. John Mayor Lori Ackerman and city councillor Dan Davies, who both ran for the nomination in 2009, when current MLA Pat Pimm first won the party’s nod.

article continues below

Davies also ran for the federal Conservative nomination for Prince George – Peace River in 2011, which he lost to current MP Bob Zimmer.

In November, Pimm announced he would not seek re-election in 2017, honoring a commitment he made to his family that he would only run for two terms.

At that time both Ackerman and Davies told the Alaska Highway News they were interested in taking his place.

Ackerman formally launched her bid for the BC Liberal Party nomination on March 22 at the Good Ole’ Dayz ice cream parlour and lounge in Fort St. John, where she said the economy, education, health care, public safety and improved relationships between municipalities and the province are the issues she would tackle as MLA.

A day later, March 23, Davies officially threw his name into the ring. At the Canadian Grind coffee shop in Fort St. John he spoke to a crowd about his priorities: maintaining the diversified economies of the region, pushing for adequate health care, local hiring, and strengthening aboriginal relations in government.

To cast a ballot on May 7, residents have to have been a member of the BC Liberal Party for at least 28 days.

“The last day to join to vote at this CSM (Candidate Selection Meeting) will be Friday April 8,” said Jillian Stead, communications manager with the BC Liberal Party.

That means interested voters 14 years of age and older who aren’t currently members have to sign up by 4:30 p.m. on that date, which can be done at

Voting will be held in both Fort Nelson and Fort St. John, Stead said.

In Fort Nelson, voting will take place from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. at the Woodland Hotel, located at 3995 50th Avenue South, in the Birch Room.

In Fort St. John, voting will be held from 6:15 to 8:15 p.m. at the Pomeroy Hotel and Conference Centre, at 11308 Alaska Road, in the Sterling Room.

© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus
Sign Up for our Newsletter!

Popular News

Lowest Gas Prices in Chetwynd, Dawson Creek, Fort Nelson, Fort St John, Tumbler Ridge
British Columbia Gas Prices provided by

Community Event Calendar

Find out what's happening in your community and submit your own local events.