Skip to content

Fort St. John Figure Skating Award winners

Here are the winners of the Fort St. John Figure Skating Club's annual year-end awards.

The Fort St. John Figure Skating Club had its annual year-end awards ceremony on Friday, June 4. 

The club had a different kind of season as skaters could only practice and had to deal with ever-changing protocols and restrictions, but were able to stay on the ice all season. Skaters participated in a virtual competition in March, a virtual test day, and in-house tests as well.

"Being able to do these things gave the skaters something to work toward and prepare for, which is always important when your an athlete. We were happy to be able to hand out our awards at the end of the season to recognize all the skaters hard work they did this year, even if it wasn’t our normal annual awards banquet. We hope that by the end of next season our skaters and their family and friends will all be able to celebrate together once again," said Coach Jennifer Hammond.

Here are the award winners for the 2020/21 season:

Canskate Award: Brynn Demers, Landon Cavers

Pre-Star of the Year: Alexis Cavers, Kambree Schultz, Addison Huth

Energizer Bunny: Michael Young, Kinley Fast, Blayke Fast, Ysabelle Antonio, Zoey Shallow, Mannat Sidhu

Most Improved Primary Runners Up: Tessa Batten, Jacob Shipalesky, Samara Olsen-Smith, Gihanna Vorobets-Magee 

Most Improved Primary: Cheyanne Ralph, Kenzie Schultz, Kelsie Hardy, Kolby Schultz

Jacob Shipalesky figure skatingJacob Shipalesky was a runner up for the Most Improved Primary award. By supplied
Most Improved Intermediate Runner Up: Claire Thomas, Kassia Pajor, Katelynn Hardy

Most Improved Intermediate: Madyn Peebles

Most Improved Senior Runner Up: Ashlyn Goertzen, Emma Eggimann

Most Improved Senior: Addison Stone, Shaye Peebles

Year Round Most Improved: Addison Stone, Shaye Peebles, Madyn Peebles, Cheyanne Ralph, Kelsie Hardy, Kolby Schultz, Kenzie Schultz

Year Round Competition (Star 1 to 3): Kendall Fleming

Year Round Competition (Star 4 to Gold): Kassia Pajor, Naomi Batten, Emma Eggimann

Emma Eggimann figure skatingEmma Eggimann won the Jr. Sports Council Award, Most Improved Senior runner up, and won the Year Round Competition for Star 4 to Gold. By supplied
Most Sportsmanlike Skater: Emma Shipalesky, Kamryn Fleming

Jean Gardner Memorial Award: Shaye Peebles, Sophie Stevens

Jr. Sports Council Award: Emma Eggimann, Claire Thomas

Kids Arena Legacy Award: Addison Stone, Kolby Schultz

Debbie Dillabaugh Memorial Volunteer of the Year Award: Kim Schultz

2021 Grads: Haley Patterson and Kyla McAvany 

Email sports reporter Dillon Giancola at