Skip to content

Senior Flyers take flight

Team plays in first game action since 2019 Coy Cup
sr-flyers-gullickson-2
Sr. Flyers goaltender Ty Gullickson (31) is one of the key veterans in the line-up the coaching staff will rely on to have success in the upcoming 2022-23 season.

For the first time in close to three years, the Fort St. John senior Flyers will step back on the ice, albeit in a pre-season match – a road game Thursday night in Dawson Creek.

The last time the men’s team played was against the very same Canucks in the Coy Cup championship game at the North Peace Arena in 2019.

Holding its last team practice Wednesday night ahead of tonight’s opener in a home-and-home series, Paul van Nostrand and his management team will now begin the process of trimming the roster down to 22 players.

Besides returning players like goaltender Ty Gullickson and forward Robbie Sidhu, there’s new faces like Alex Nimmo, who completed his final season last spring with the junior B Huskies; Nimmo’s former teammate and current midget Trackers head coach Jared Winkel is also in the mix.

Tonight’s game in Dawson, if you’re planning to make the trip, begins at 7:30 at Memorial Arena.

Teams will return to North Peace Arena Saturday night for the rubber match, also a 7:30 face-off.

For regular season games, though, it’ll be the tradition 8:30 puck drop.

All home games are either on a Friday or Saturday night.

The Flyers regular season schedule is below.

Home games are in bold lettering.

  • 1. Sat., Oct. 29 at Spirit River
  • 2. Fri., Nov. 4 at Manning
  • 3. Sat., Nov. 5 DAWSON CREEK
  • 4. Sat., Nov. 12 FALHER
  • 5. Fri., Nov. 25 at Falher
  • 6. Sat., Nov. 26 GRANDE PRAIRIE
  • 7. Fri., Dec. 2 GRIMSHAW
  • 8. Sat., Dec. 3 at Valleyview
  • 9. Thu., Dec. 8 at Grande Prairie
  • 10. Sat., Dec. 10 SPIRIT RIVER
  • 11. Thu., Dec. 15 at Dawson Creek
  • 12. Sat., Dec. 17 GRANDE PRAIRIE
  • 13. Sat., Jan. 7 VALLEYVIEW
  • 14. Fri., Jan. 13 at Grimshaw
  • 15. Sat., Jan. 14 SPIRIT RIVER
  • 16. Fri., Jan. 20 MANNING
  • 17. Sat., Jan. 21 at Dawson Creek
  • 18. Fri., Jan. 27 at Spirit River
  • 19. Sat., Jan. 28 at Grande Prairie
  • 20. Sat., Feb. 4 DAWSON CREEK

Have a story idea or result to share? Email Dave at: sports@ahnfsj.ca

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks