Skip to content

Update: Taylor Speedway gets in first three races of the season

Doug Babcock Memorial and first-half of postponed Bomber Invitational able to be completed
jason westgate-doug babcock 2022
South Taylor's Jason Westgate wins the main event in the Modifieds at the Doug Babcock Memorial Sat., June 25 at Taylor Speedway.

After having its first two events postponed by the weather this spring, the Taylor Speedway was able to put on the annual Doug Babcock Memorial Weekend and complete half of the postponed Bomber Invitational June 24-26 without any delays or surprises.

The two-night, one afternoon event saw some of the Fort St. John stock car club's experienced drivers move up in the ranks, while others were added to the track's race roster for the first time.

Among the most notable – Chelsea Babcock, last year's Bomber class track champion, who is now racing in the highly-charged IMCA Modified category.

“After being track champion last year, I was really looking for a new challenge,” said Babcock.

“We thought is was time for an upgrade.”

Now in her 20's, Babcock started racing in her teens in the mini-sprints before moving up to bombers and now, Mods.

Cody Willis, who won both main events in the sports division Friday and Saturday nights, was driving a new car, having, himself, competed in mini-sprints just last year.

Below are the top three finishers in the main events from action Friday night, Saturday night, and Sunday afternoon.

Doug Babcock Memorial:

Sports class:

Friday: 1) Cody Willis 2) Jeremy LaFountain 3) Eddy Scarfo

Saturday: 1) Cody Willis 2) Travis LeClerc 3) Jeremy LaFountain

Mini-junior class:

Friday: 1) Renee Tubbs 2) Anthony Seguin 3) Logan Sidoni

Saturday: 1) Anthony LaFountain 2) Logan Sedoni 3) Rayla Tubbs

Bomber class:

Friday: 1) Justin Tackaberry 2) Devon Beebe 3) Dave Quenneville

Saturday: 1) Devon Beebe 2) Justin Tackaberry 3) Keegan Wallace

Mini-adults class:

Friday: 1) Jamie Legal 2) Richard Hildebrand 3) Jordan Harrison

Saturday: 1) Jamie Legal 2) Erin Hall 3) Richard Hildebrand

Modifieds class:

Friday: 1) Johnny Beaumont 2) Dennis Wurst 3) John Stokes

Saturday: 1) Jason Westgate 2) Aaron Tubbs 3) Dennis Wurst


Bomber Invitational (1st round)

Sports/Bombers classes (combined):

Sunday: 1) Jeremy LaFountain 2) Cody Willis 3)Devon Beebe

Mini-juniors class:

Sunday: 1) Anthony LaFountain 2) Logan Sidoni 3) Jamie McCabe

Mini-adults class:

Sunday: 1) Richard Hildebrand 2) Jamie Legal 3) Erin Hall

Modifieds class:

Sunday: 1) Dennis Wurst 2) Johnny Beaumont 3) Aaron Tubbs

Racing returns to the track July 15-16 with the Lazer's Edge Mini-stock Invitational, followed on the 17th by the second part of the Bomber Invitational – all, weather permitting.

Have a story idea or results to share?  Email Dave at: