Horgan changes name of B.C. energy ministry

Bruce Ralston will maintain his post as B.C.'s energy minister, though Premier John Horgan has renamed the portfolio and scrubbed mention of petroleum resources.

Horgan announced his new cabinet Thursday, which includes a name change from the Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources, to the Ministry of Energy, Mines and Low Carbon Innovation.

article continues below

Ralston was named energy minister in January 2020, and Horgan's new cabinet relies on familiar faces in key positions — Adrian Dix remaining in health, while giving the task of finance minister to Selina Robinson.

Robinson has been tapped to replace longtime legislature member Carole James, who didn’t seek re-election in the last month’s provincial election for health reasons. Robinson was previously the minister of municipal affairs and housing.

The premier has kept some of his most senior ministers in their previous cabinet posts, including Mike Farnworth as solicitor general and David Eby as attorney general, but with the added responsibility of housing.

Three former federal MPs were handed cabinet posts, with Murray Rankin being named Indigenous relations and reconciliation minister and Nathan Cullen as minister of state for lands, natural resource operations.

Among the other newcomers to cabinet are Mitzi Dean as children and family development minister; former Tofino mayor Josie Osbourne at municipal affairs; and Jennifer Whiteside in education.

Rob Fleming moves from education to transportation.

Horgan's cabinet unveiling comes after the NDP won a majority government in last month's election, capturing 57 of the 87 seats in B.C.'s legislature.

Horgan has recalled the legislature for a brief session with a throne speech Dec. 7.

Horgan's full cabinet roster includes:

  • Premier: John Horgan

  • Attorney General (and Minister Responsible For Housing): David Eby

  • * Parliamentary Secretary - Anti-Racism Initiatives: Rachna Singh

  • Advanced Education and Skills Training: Anne Kang

  • * Parliamentary Secretary - Skills Training: Andrew Mercier

  • Agriculture, Food and Fisheries: Lana Popham

  • * Parliamentary Secretary - Fisheries and Aquaculture: Fin Donnelly

  • Citizens' Services: Lisa Beare

  • Children and Family Development: Mitzi Dean

  • * Minister of State for Child Care: Katrina Chen

  • Education: Jennifer Whiteside

  • Energy, Mines and Low Carbon Innovation (and Minister Responsible for the Consular Corps of British Columbia): Bruce Ralston

  • Environment and Climate Change Strategy (and Minister Responsible for Translink): George Heyman

  • * Parliamentary Secretary - Environment: Kelly Greene

  • Finance: Selina Robinson

  • * Parliamentary Secretary - Gender Equity: Grace Lore

  • Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development: Katrine Conroy

  • * Minister of State for Lands, Natural Resource Operations: Nathan Cullen

  • * Parliamentary Secretary - Rural Development: Roly Russell

  • Health (and Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs): Adrian Dix

  • * Parliamentary Secretary - Seniors Services and Long Term Care: Mable Elmore

  • Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation: Murray Rankin

  • Jobs, Economic Recovery and Innovation: Ravi Kahlon

  • * Minister of State for Trade: George Chow

  • * Parliamentary Secretary - Technology and Innovation: Brenda Bailey

  • Labour: Harry Bains

  • * Parliamentary Secretary - New Economy: Adam Walker

  • Mental Health and Addictions: Sheila Malcolmson

  • Municipal Affairs: Josie Osborne

  • Public Safety and Solicitor General: Mike Farnworth

  • * Parliamentary Secretary - Emergency Preparedness: Jennifer Rice

  • Social Development and Poverty Reduction: Nicholas Simons

  • * Parliamentary Secretary - Community Development and Non-Profits: Niki Sharma

  • * Parliamentary Secretary - Accessibility: Dan Coulter

  • Tourism, Arts, Culture and Sport: Melanie Mark

  • * Parliamentary Secretary - Arts and Film: Bob D'Eith

  • Transportation and Infrastructure: Rob Fleming

  • * Minister of State for Infrastructure: Bowinn Ma

— with files from The Canadian Press

Email Managing Editor Matt Preprost at editor@ahnfsj.ca.

© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus

Popular News

Lowest Gas Prices in Chetwynd, Dawson Creek, Fort Nelson, Fort St John, Tumbler Ridge
British Columbia Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com

Community Event Calendar

Find out what's happening in your community and submit your own local events.