2018 Lone Wolf Club Champions

It was another weekend of wet and cool weather for title-seeking golfers in Taylor as they competed for the 2018 Lone Wolf club championships — and three of them came away champions for the first time.

Toby Coyle took the men's title, Dan Hogg took the senior men's; Suzanne Lawson took the ladies title, while Dorothy Trask took the senior ladies; and young Trip Turnbull took home the junior championship.

article continues below

"It was good, got stuck with a good group of guys that I've golfed with a couple times before, a couple of them quite often," said Coyle, who won his first club championship.

"The weather was ... a little bit challenging at best. (Saturday) was quite nice, (Sunday) was a little bit different as usual, but it wouldn't club championship if it wasn't like that. Craig set up the course just beautifully, the superintendent does a phenomenal job, everybody does around here. The course has been great all year."

Patience was the great equalizer through the weather, Coyle said. 

"Watching some of the numbers that got put up, knowing everybody's in the mix, it's just one swing at a time, making all the putts, concentrating on everything you got to do all the way through it," he said, noting the greens posed the toughest challenge of the tournament.

"They weren't slick, they were rolling true, everything was rolling out; making sure oyu were paying attention, putting your ball in the right position, making sure you were putting up hill as much as you could. Playing this course every day, every chance I get, it's still as challenging as it gets."

Turnbull, 9, earned his first club championship in his second time competing, beating two-time defending champion Jarrett Lawson by a single stroke.

"I've been practicing and practicing," said Turnbull, who's been golfing since he was two years old.

"It was fun, it was difficult. I was nervous, I didn't know if Jarrett was going to win, I didn't know if Jacob was going to win because they were my competitors. I was most focused that I was going to win."

It was also Suzanne Lawson's first club championship, and Trask's fourth.


• Toby Coyle, men’s (78, 75)
• Dan Hogg, senior men’s (71, 79)
• Suzanne Lawson, ladies (90, 95)
• Dorothy Trask, senior ladies (93, 97)
• Trip Turnbull, junior (117, 120)

Low net winners:

• Josh Lucas, men’s (69, 69)
• Walter Trask, senior men’s (68, 68)
• Deanne Lawson, ladies (82, 79)
• Jarrett Lawson, junior (87, 71)

© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus
Sign Up for our Newsletter!

Popular News