2019 NPSS Athletics Awards

The 2019 NPSS Grizzlies Athletic Awards were handed out last night, June 6, at the annual awards banquet at the NPSS gym. The 2018-19 year was a successful one for the NPSS athletics program, which featured 148 athletes playing seven sports, five teams going to provincials, and resulted in seven athletes moving on to play college sports next year. 

The major award winners of the night were Kenzie Chilcott for Most Outstanding Athletic Performance, Quinlan Snider for Male Athlete of the Year and Celine Quigley for Female Athlete of the Year. 

article continues below

Chilcott won the award for her strong play on the senior girls soccer team, where she was named coaches choice winner, and for winning the cross country zones. 

Snider played four sports — soccer, track and field, rugby and cross country, and stood out in all of them, and Quigley won for her role as captain and MVP of the senior girls basketball team. 

Here is the full list of awards winners:

Major Awards

Athlete of the Year - Male: Quinlan Snider

Athlete of the Year - Female: Celine Quigley

Outstanding Athletic Performance: Kenzie Chilcott

Cross Country
Coaches Choice:
Leigh Hedges
MVP: Kenzie Chilcott

Boys Soccer
Rookie of the Year:
Harrison Sewell
Coaches Choice: Caleb Mohninger
MVP: Devin Velkjar

Girls Soccer
Rookie of the Year:
Maddison Holloway
Coaches Choice: Kenzie Chilcott
MVP Attacking: Emma Close
MVP Defending: Teagan Clement

Jr. Girls Volleyball
Coaches Choice:
Raya Heinrichs
MVP: Taylor Schmidt

Sr. Girls Volleyball
Rookie of the Year:
Megan Salinas
Coaches of the Choice: Jessie Copes
MVP: Daelyn Jeffers

Sr. Boys Volleyball
Rookie of the Year:
Drew Woodruff
Coaches Choice: Thomas Taylor
MVP: Michael McDermott

Jr. Boys Basketball
Coaches Choice:
Colton Dyck
MVP: Gryphon Talbot

Jr. Girls Basketball 
Coaches Choice:
Jenna Miranda
MVP: Isabella Ziebart

Sr. Girls Basketball
Rookie of the Year:
Mackenzie O'Brien
Ross Memorial Inspirational Award: Alexis Ziebart
Coaches Choice: Claire Turner
MVP: Celine Quigley

Sr. Boys Basketball
Rookie of the Year:
Liam Peterson
Ross Memorial Inspirational Award: Earl Concepcion
MVP: Mason Miranda

Track and Field
Rookie of the Year:
Jacob Haluzka
Coaches Choice: Tyler Turner
MVP: Kenzie Chilcott

Girls Rugby
Most Fit:
Alex Hedges
Most Improved: Maddison Holloway
Coaches Choice: Michelle Kalkman
MVP: Linsey Edwards

Boys Rugby
Best Back:
Tristan Hynes
Best Forward: Noah Klassen
MVP: Tim Zimmer

Most Improved:
Brooklyn Willms
Coaches Choice: Connor Kindrat
MVP: Kurtis Lee

Email sports reporter Dillon Giancola at sports@ahnfsj.ca.

© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus
Alaska Highway People's Choice 2020

Popular News