Ben Dawson wins 2019 Blizzard Mountain Bike Championship

Although mountain bikers traditionally love to ride in the mud and rain, it was a low turnout for this year’s annual Blizzard Bike Club mountain bike championship at Beatton Park, with just six riders taking part.

While it rained much of the weekend, organizer Pat Ferris felt the 13-kilometre course was, generally, in good condition. Ferris, though, did fall down a small embankment during the race – however, no worse for wear when he crossed the finish line in one hour, 23 minutes, and 40 seconds.

article continues below

This year’s winner, Ben Dawson, finished the circuit in 54 minutes, 19 seconds, almost a full five minutes ahead of the second and third place finishers. Dawson, originally from Ontario, is a former competitive cyclist, but considers himself “semi-retired” from the sport.

Below is the list of Sunday’s finishing times:

1. Ben Dawson – 54:19
2. LT McDonnell – 59:15
3. Trevor McDonnell – 59:16
4. Megan Ruddell – 1:00:10
5. Lukas Brand – 1:02:07
6. Pat Ferris – 1:23:40

© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus
Sign Up for our Newsletter!

Popular News