Board appointed for 2020 B.C. Winter Games

Fort St. John city councillors appointed the board of directors for the 2020 B.C. Winter Games on Monday, with Darren Snider being named president of the board. 

The games will be held in Fort St. John from February 20 to 23, 2020.

article continues below

"With only 18 months to plan and execute the games, we have assembled a passionate and committed group of volunteers who will once again demonstrate to our visitors that the city and region specialize in (the) exceptional,” said Snider. 

Mayor Lori Ackerman spoke about the games and the board that was selected.

“Our community is set to build on the legacy of many other higher level sporting events and continue to demonstrate our ability to host competitions at this level. We have appointed a diverse group that will lead our volunteers to ensure a successful games, while leaving a lasting legacy for our community,” said Ackerman.

The board is organized into 14 planning areas, as the amount of preparation needed to hold the games is substantial. Up to 2,000 volunteers could be involved, and up to 1,436 athletes, 361 coaches, and 246 officials coudl make their way to Fort St. John for the games. 

Fort St. John last hosted the Games in 1984.

"The BC Games are truly British Columbia’s games and it’s a priority to see every corner of the province involved,” said Alison Noble, incoming president and CEO of the BC Games Society.

“I am excited to have the Games return to the northeast after a 30 year absence and I know that the outstanding facilities and tremendous commitment by the community will result in a successful Games.”

Below is a list of the board of directors and the committees each member will oversee. Two spots remain vacant.

President - Darren Snider

Vice President - Dee-Ann Stickel

Accommodations Director - TBD

Administration Director - Tony Zabinsky

Ceremonies & Special Events Director - Margaret May

Communications Systems Director - TBD

Food Services Director - Lynette Cordonier

Friends of the Games Director - Kendra Delitche

Logistics Director - Judy Neumeier

Marketing Director - Jennifer Moore

Medical Services Director - Neil Evans

Participant & Volunteer Services Director - Stephanie Giesbrecht

Protocol Director - Heather McCracken

Venue Access Director - Curtis Redpath

Sport Director - Angela Telford

Transportation Director - Cindy Dettling

Email sports reporter Dillon Giancola at

© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus