Energetic Edge Cheer squad awarded as inaugural season ends

The Energetic Edge Cheer Association wrapped up its first season with a showcase and awards night on June 8.

Director and Coach Christina Brace said the team has learned a lot in its inaugural season.

article continues below

"All of our athletes have increased their tumbling skills this year, from cartwheels to roundoffs to back handsprings. They've all improved enormously," she said.

The team travelled to two competitions this season, one to Edmonton for the Alberta Cheerleading Association championship, and the other to Kelowna for the Okanagan Cheerleading Championship.

While the competitions were more of a learning experience, Energetic Edge did win the sportsmanship award at the Kelowna event.

“I was really excited, it was one award I knew we could win,” said Brace.



Edge Pride Award:Taylor Raworth

• No Fear Award:Kayda Ratcliffe and Hayden Salinas

• Spirit Award: Tashina Bernard and Zara Bedell

• Awesome Attitude Award:Ella Bennett

• Energetic Award: Hannah Earle and Thallis Gessner

• Best Moves Award:Nikki Narciso

• Showmanship Award: Veronika Klimczak

• Determination Award:Maya Robichaud

• Leadership Award:Bryleigh Barnett and Haylie Carroll

• All Star Award: Rylee Oliver and Ashia Bedell

• Dedication Award: Jaylee Eisert

• Versatility Award:Jasmine Shular and Saige Baerg

• Coaches Award:Destiny Buburuz and Claire Livingston

• 110% Award: Aiden Clish and Viktoria Klimczak

• Skyrocket Award:Aleasha Dool and Conor McGarvey

• Jammin’ Jumps Award: Ashlee Lawrence and Hannah Riopel

• Terrific Tumbling Award: Haydn Acko and Lexie Carroll

• First Rate Flyer Award:Paige Buburuz and Laela Thompson

• Boss Base Award: Ashlyn Farrell and Morgan Wightman

• Stupendous Spotter Award: Hailee Wheatley and Eghin Thompson

• Appreciation Award: Madison Sims, Hannah Robertson, Kailey Miranda and Abigail Moore.

© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus
Alaska Highway People's Choice 2020

Popular News