Fort St. John schools dominate at track and field zones in Quesnel

It was an excellent two-day trip for Fort St. John track and fielders at the North Central Zones in Quesnel.

“We had a really great showing from our middle school kids and are really excited,” said Jen Harrison, vice principal at Bert Bowes and track team coach.

article continues below

Four middle school athletes went, with Elanor Copes and Kane Schreiner turning in stellar performances. Copes, from Clearview School, was first in the long jump and 400m, and second in the 100m and 200m. Kane Schreiner, of Bert Bowes, won all four of his events - the long jump, 100m, 200m and 800m races.

The two, along with Megan Stobbe and Patrick Nyomwunge, are awaiting to see if they will qualify for provincials in Langley, May 31 to June 2.

In the senior category, athletes from NPSS were the talk of the meet, beating all schools with 202 points.

Kenzie Chilcott is going to provincials in the 1500m and 800m races, one of NPSS students qualifying.

Chad Singh and Jace Wieler owned the competition, finishing first and second in the 100m and 200m races, as well as winning the 4 x 100m relay alongside Aiden Craig-Steele and Connor Chapple.

Craig Steele had a strong meet, winning the 800m and 2,000m steeplechase, and finishing third in the 400m.

Email sports reporter Dillon Giancola at

© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus
Alaska Highway People's Choice 2020
Sign Up for our Newsletter!

Popular News