SCOREBOARD: Dawson Creek Senior Canucks 9, Fort St. John Senior Flyers 7

The Fort St. John Flyers and Dawson Creek Canucks put on a show for the fans in their game Friday night, which the Canucks won 9-7. While the game was very physical and fast paced throughout, the goaltending was lacking from both sides. 

The game was tied at 2 after the first period, but the Canucks broke out in the second with five goals to take a 7-4 lead. The Flyers were the better team in the third, scoring three goals, but the Canucks scored a key goal on the empty net and Fort St. John simply ran out of time. 

article continues below

"A lot of goals seems to be the theme these days. We need to tighten things up defensively, we can’t score seven goals and lose," said Flyers defenseman Reid Campbell, who had quite the night with two goals and three assists. 

Rick Cleaver had a hat trick for the Flyers, while Jeff Shipton had a goal and three assists. In net for the Flyers was Logan Edwards, making his first start for the team, filling in for the Flyers regulars. 

Campbell said one of the positives his team could take away from the game was that they scored seven goals. One thing's for sure, if all the games between the Flyers and Canucks are like this, Peace Region fans are in for quite the treat.

Fort St. John Senior Flyers vs Dawson Creek Senior Canucks

Friday, November 16, 2018, 8:30 p.m., North Peace Arena, Fort St. John

1st Period

Scoring — Dawson Creek, Jonathan Jasper (Jeff Taylor) powerplay, 10:41; Dawson Creek, Matt Schmerund (Mike Lalonde, Colin Mathieson) powerplay, 10:19; Fort St. John, Jeff Shipton (Reid Campbell, Joey Massingham) powerplay, 8:18; Fort St. John, Rick Cleaver (Adam Horst, Joey Massingham) 4:23.

Penalties — Dawson Creek, Levi George (tripping, 2 min.) 17:54; Fort St. John, Reid Campbell (roughing, 2 min.) 11:54; Fort St. John (tripping, 2 min.) 11:08; Dawson Creek; Levi George (slashing, 2 min.) 8:59.

2nd Period

Scoring — Dawson Creek, Mike Lalonde (Sean Maktaak, Evan Weaver) 12:55; Dawson Creek, Jonathan Jasper (Dolan Bjornson, Brett Norman) 11:06; Fort St. John, Reid Campbell (Joey Massingham, Adam Horst) 5:09; Dawson Creek, Dolan Bjornson (Brett Norman, Jonathan Jasper) 3:11; Dawson Creek, Matt Schmerund (Mike Lalonde, Sean Maktaak) 2:51; Fort St. John, Rick Cleaver (Reid Campbell, Jeff Shipton) powerplay, 1:33; Dawson Creek, Riley Muise (Levi George, Scott Fisher) 0:16.

Penalties — Fort St. John, Daylen Pearson (holding the stick, 2 min.) 15:59; Dawson Creek, Evan Weaver (kneeing, 2 min.) 2:21.

3rd Period

Scoring — Fort St. John, Rick Cleaver (Adam Horst, Reid Campbell) 15:37; Dawson Creek, Mike Lalonde (Sean Maktaak, Matt Schmerund) 10:36; Fort St. John, Tanner LeSann (Lien Miller-Jeannotte, Jeff Shipton) 4:55; Dawson Creek, Sean Maktaak (Mike Lalonde) 2:14; Fort St. John, Reid Campbell (Lien Miller-Jeanotte, Jeff Shipton) 0:53.

Penalties — Dawson Creek, Sean Maktaak (hooking, 2 min.) 8:28; Fort St. John, Lien Miller-Jeannotte (hitting from behind, 2 min., misconduct) 0:23.

Goal (saves/shots) — Fort St. John, Logan Edwards (20/29); Dawson Creek, Josh Round (23/30)

Powerplay — Fort St. John 2/4; Dawson Creek 2/4

© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus
Sign Up for our Newsletter!

Popular News