SCOREBOARD: Fort St. John Huskies 11, Sexsmith Vipers 1

A week after the Huskies lost their first game after winning seven straight, they hosted the Vipers and beat up on Sexsmith as if nothing happened.

The Huskies won 11-1 on an incredible 73 shots, allowing just 20 shots against. 

article continues below

Joel Bourgeois led the Huskies with a hat trick and two assists for five points, while Gary Loewen had a goal and three assists. Tyler McArthur got the win in net. 

The Huskies needed to get the week started on the right foot, as they head to Peace River for two games this weekend (December 14 and 15) against the second place Navigators. The Navs are just three points back of Fort St. John.

Sexsmith Vipers at Fort St. John Huskies
Thursday, December 12, 2019, 8:00 p.m., North Peace Arena

1st Period

Scoring — Fort St. John, Joel Bourgeois (Gary Loewen, Dean Whitcomb) 1:41; Fort St. John, Alex Nimmo (Gary Loewen, Jared Loewen) 17:45; Fort St. John, Ivan Jasbec (Joel Bourgeois, Dean Whitcomb) 19:09.
Penalties — Fort St. John, Dawson Phillips (hooking, 2 min.) 6:53; Sexsmith, Jace Grant (boarding, 2 min.) 13:00.

2nd Period

Scoring — Fort St. John, Nils Nemec (Ivan Jasbec, Cooper Wilms) 1:19; Fort St. John, Joel Bourgeois (Dean Whitcomb, Jared Winkel) 2:45; Fort St. John, Cayden Frenette (Cooper Wilms, Dawson Phillips) 7:28; Sexsmith, Gavin Huber (Jace Grant, Kail Magnusson) 9:39; Fort St. John, Jared Winkel (unassisted) 15:15.
Penalties — Sexsmith, Kail Magnusson (cross checking, 2 min.) 3:51; Fort St. John, Alex Nimmo (boarding, 2 min.) 10:46; Sexsmith, Clint Lefley (slashing, 2 min.) 13:49; Fort St. John, Dean Whitcomb (high sticking, 2 min.) 14:57.

3rd Period

Scoring — Fort St. John, Cayden Frenette (Connor Kindrat) 2:12; Fort St. John, Joel Bourgeois (Jared Loewen, Tyler McArthur) 7:18; Fort St. John, Gary Loewen (Joel Bourgeois, Alex Nimmo) 12:02; Fort St. John, Alex Nimmo (Gary Loewen, Jared Winkel) 17:03.
Penalties — No penalties.

Powerplay — Fort St. John (0/3); Sexsmith (0/4)
Goal — Fort St. John, Tyler McArthur (19/20); Sexsmith, Ryan Buchan (62/73).

Email sports reporter Dillon Giancola at

© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus
Alaska Highway People's Choice 2020

Popular News