SCOREBOARD: Fort St. John Huskies 6, Dawson Creek Junior Canucks 5 (OT)

In the second game of the season series between the Fort St. John Huskies and Dawson Creek Canucks, the Huskies got their first win of the season over their rivals in a thrilling 6-5 overtime victory. The win came in front of 498 fans, as the game saw a large turnout due to it being the Huskies Stick It To Cancer fundraiser game. 

The Huskies took a 2-0 lead in the first period, only to see Dawson Creek comeback with three straight goals. Down 3-2 early in the second, the Huskies went on a run of their own, making the score 5-3 after two periods. Still, the Huskies couldn't put the Canucks away, and goalie Tyler McArthur had his hands full with the team from Dawson.

article continues below

The Canucks were able to tie it up and send the game to overtime, where Gary Loewen jumped on the loose puck for a breakaway 27 seconds into the frame, and snapped a wrist shot past goalie Matthew Ens for the win. Loewen had two goals and an assist on the night. Also having a huge night was fourth-line centre Dawson Phillips, with two goals. 

McArthur pulled out the win, stopping 19 of the 24 shots he faced. The Huskies are back in action tonight at 7 p.m. against the North Peace Navigators in Peace River.


Dawson Creek Junior Canucks at Fort St. John Huskies

Friday, October 18, 2019, 8:00 p.m., North Peace Arena, Fort St. John

1st Period

Scoring — Fort St. John, Dawson Phillips (Cooper Wilms) 4:14; Fort St. John, Gary Loewen (Jared Loewen, Jared Winkel) powerplay, 12:27; Dawson Creek, Brennan Malgunas (Mason McLeod) 14:26; Dawson Creek, Dustin Bahm (unassisted) 19:15.

Penalties — Dawson Creek, Dustin Bahm (tripping, 2 min.) 1:34; Fort St. John, Robbie Davis (holding, 2 min.) 6:10; Dawson Creek, Ethan Buck (tripping, 2 min.) 11:36; Fort St. John, Oscar Burgess (checking from behind, 2 min., game misconduct) 13:08; Dawson Creek, Matthew Ens (interference, 2 min.) 14:05; Dawson Creek, Max Arnold (tripping, 2 min.) 16:35.

2nd Period

Scoring — Dawson Creek, Chase Henrickson (Tanner Bahm) 0:14; Fort St. John, Dawson Phillips (Owen Floriant, Shayden Hiebert) 6:47; Fort St. John, Connor Kindrat (Jared Loewen, Chase London) powerplay, 9:15; Fort St. John, Cooper Wilms (Gary Loewen) 17:02.

Penalties — Dawson Creek, Max Arnold (cross checking, 2 min.) 8:51; Dawson Creek, Raymond Prive (elbowing, 2 min.) 12:51.

3rd Period

Scoring — Dawson Creek, Braden Streich (Brandon Rowley) 3:32; Dawson Creek, Max Arnold (Dustin Bahm, Chase Henrickson) 8:53.

Penalties — Fort St. John, Chase London (elbowing, 2 min.) 5:45; Dawson Creek, Craig MacDonald (tripping, 2 min.) 8:27; Fort St. John, Gary Loewen (cross checking, 2 min.) 8:38; Fort St. John, Chase London (tripping, 2 min.) 17:52.


Scoring — Fort St. John, Gary Loewen (unassisted) 0:27.

Powerplay — Fort St. John (2/6); Dawson Creek (0/4)

Goal (saves/shots) — Fort St. John, Tyler McArthur (19/24); Dawson Creek, Matthew Ens (31/37)

Email sports reporter Dillon Giancola at

© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus
Sign Up for our Newsletter!

Popular News