SCOREBOARD: Fort St. John Huskies 7, Dawson Creek Junior Canucks 4

The Fort St. John Huskies, for the first 40 minutes Saturday night, showed why they are the top team in the NWJHL.

The Huskies broke out to a 6-1 lead over Dawson Creek (who were in second place at the time) in just two periods. In the third, Tyler McArthur had to replace Braedyn Funke in goal with Tyler McArthur due to injury, and the team stalled a bit. The Canucks scored three goals on just five shots, but the Huskies kept fighting, and held on for the 7-4 win. 

article continues below

The win was the seventh in a row for the Huskies, who now have 32 points, seven more than the Canucks, who were passed by the North Peace Navigators for second.

The scoring for Fort St. John was spread out Saturday night, but Gary Loewen led the way with two goals, while Aiden Tegart (two assists) and Cayden Frenette (one goal, one assist) each had two points as well. 

The Huskies are holding their annual Huskies Fill the Bus food drive for the Salvation Army Sunday at the North Peace Arena. 

Dawson Creek Junior Canucks at Fort St. John Huskies

Saturday, November 30, 2019, 8:00 p.m., North Peace Arena, Fort St. John

1st Period

Scoring — Fort St. John, Gary Loewen (Dean Whitcomb, Jared Loewen) 7:31; Fort St. John, Joel Bourgeois (Cayden Frenette) 13:17; Fort St. John, Gary Loewen (Logan Kimmie, Connor Kindrat) 17:10.

Penalties — Dawson Creek, Andrew Davidse (slashing, 2 min.) 1:36; Dawson Creek, Ethan Buck (boarding, 2 min.) 2:00; Fort St. John, Ivan Jasbec (tripping, 2 min.) 14:17.

2nd Period

Scoring — Dawson Creek, Braden Streich (unassisted) 0:30; Fort St. John, Cooper Wilms (Dawson Phillips) 13:24; Fort St. John, Jared Winkel (Aiden Tegart) 14:43; Fort St. John, Cayden Frenette (Nils Nemec) 15:35.

Penalties — Fort St. John, Teagan McMullen (cross checking, 2 min.) 2:12; Dawson Creek, Dustin Bahm (slashing, 2 min.) 4:34; Fort St. John, Gary Loewen (boarding, 2 min.) 5:35; Fort St. John, Oscar Burgess (interference, 2 min.) 6:12; Dawson Creek, Raymond Prive (hooking, 2 min.) 9:40.

3rd Period

Scoring — Dawson Creek, Carter Macki (unassisted) 1:31; Dawson Creek, Mason McLeod (Raymond Prive, Brandon Rowley) 3:43; Dawson Creek, Dex Elders (Raymond Prive) 16:14; Fort St. John, Alex Nimmo (Aiden Tegart) empty net, 19:50.

Penalties — Dawson Creek, Raymond Prive (holding, 2 min.) 1:28; Fort St. John, Logan Kimmie (cross checking, 2 min.) 1:41; Dawson Creek, Raymond Prive (holding, 2 min.) 4:23; Dawson Creek, Raymond Prive (roughing, 2 min.) 4:23; Fort St. John, Alex Nimmo (slew foot, 4 min.) 4:23; Fort St. John, Joel Bourgeois (hooking, 2 min.) 6:29.

Powerplay — Fort St. John (0/5); Dawson Creek (0/6)

Goal (saves/shots) — Fort St. John, Braedyn Funke (10/11) / Fort St. John, Tyler McArthur (5/8); Dawson Creek, Conor Webb (35/41) / Matthew Ens (15/16)

Email sports reporter Dillon Giancola at

© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus
Sign Up for our Newsletter!

Popular News