SCOREBOARD: Fort St. John Senior Flyers 5, Dawson Creek Senior Canucks 0

The Dawson Creek Canucks came to Fort St. John last night looking to get a win and clinch the Lawrence Cup for finishing the regular season with the most points, but the Fort St. John Flyers had other ideas. The Flyers dug down deep and shutout the Canucks 5-0, on the backs of a shutout performance from Travis McLean. 

"Dawson wanted to win the league, this was two points they wanted, so we had something to play for. It's been a progression this month getting prepared for playoffs, and it was a very gutsy effort for us by how little a bench we had by the end of the night," said Flyers Coach Andrew Leriger. 

article continues below

The Flyers had a couple players leave the game due to injury and game misconducts, so will be taking it easy for the rest of the week so that everyone is ready to go against Grande Prairie, next Tuesday, Feb. 5, for the start of their playoff series. Fort St. John and Grande Prairie do play tonight but the goal will be trying not to lose any players to injury. 


Dawson Creek Canucks at Fort St. John Flyers

Wednesday, January 30, 2019, 8:30 p.m., North Peace Arena

1st Period

Scoring — Fort St. John, Josh Bennett (Reid Campbell) 6:46; Fort St. John, Reid Campbell (Jeff Shipton, Rick Cleaver) 10:01.

Penalties — Dawson Creek, Brett Norman (slashing, 2 min.) 16:24.

2nd Period

Scoring — Fort St. John, Brandon Pfeil (Jeff Shipton, Rick Cleaver) 00:38; Fort St. John, Joey Massingham (Rick Cleaver, Reid Campbell) powerplay, 8:41.

Penalties — Fort St. John, Rylan Sideroff (tripping, 2 min.) 3:24; Fort St. John, Joey Massingham (high sticking, 4 min.) 3:24; Dawson Creek, John Wayne Howes (hooking, 2 min.) 6:11; Dawson Creek, Matt Schmerund (hooking, 2 min.) 8:00; Dawson Creek, Jeff Taylor (fighting, 5 min., game misconduct) 8:47; Fort St. John, Josh Bennett (fighting, 5 min., game misconduct) 8:47; Dawson Creek, Scott Fisher (kneeing, 2 min.) 9:40; Fort St. John, Ryan Forbes (roughing, 2 min.) 14:53.

3rd Period

Scoring — Fort St. John, Rick Cleaver (Robbie Sidhu, James Walsh) powerplay, 4:39.

Penalties — Dawson Creek, John Wayne Howes (roughing, 2 min.) 1:31, Fort St. John, Joey Massingham (checking from behind, game misconduct) 2:24; Dawson Creek; Spencer Gover (roughing, 2 min.) 3:22; Dawson Creek, John Wayne Howes (unsportsmanlike, 2 min.) 3:37; Fort St. John, Brandon Pfeil (roughing, 2 min.) 3:37.


Goal (saves/shots) — Fort St. John, Travis McLean (32/32); Dawson Creek, Josh Round (27/32)

Powerplay — Fort St. John (2/6); Dawson Creek (0/4)

© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus
Sign Up for our Newsletter!

Popular News