SCOREBOARD: Fort St. John Senior Flyers 6, Grande Prairie Athletics 5

The Fort St. John Senior Flyers began their championship defence with a 6-5 win over the Grande Prairie Athletics Saturday night.

It was a hard-fought, narrow battle that went down to the third period wire. 

article continues below

Joey Massingham and Reid Campbell gave the Flyers an early 2-0 lead in the first period, but Grande Prairie had tied the game up early in the second. Tanner LeSann and Steven Fast would put the Flyers up 4-2 by the end of the period. 

The Athletics outscored the Flyers in the third period, putting three pucks behind Travis McLean, but it wasn't enough as Tanner LeSann and Jordan Gies added goals for the Flyers to maintain the lead. 

Before the game, the Flyers unveiled their 2017-18 NPHL season championship banner and trophies.

Fort St. John will head to Grande Prairie for a rematch on Nov. 3.

Fort St. John Senior Flyers vs Grande Prairie Athletics

Saturday, October 27, 2018, 8:30 p.m., North Peace Arena, Fort St. John

1st Period

Scoring — Fort St. John, Joey Massingham (Adam Horst, Rick Cleaver), 16:31; Fort St. John, Reid Campbell (Tanner LeSann) 11:21; Grande Prairie, Mackenzie Caron (Blane Clement, Tyrell Mason) 0:42.

Penalties — Grande Prairie, Morgan Maclean (slashing, 2 min.) 4:26; Fort St. John, Keenan Larson (holding, 2 min.) 0:04.

2nd Period

Scoring — Grande Prairie, Devin Bell (Sheldon McArthur, Dennis Rix), 14:05; Fort St. John, Tanner LeSann (Reid Campbell, Jeff Shipton), powerplay, 5:22; Fort St. John, Steven Fast (Robbie Sidhu, Jordan Gies), 0:30.

Penalties — Grande Prairie, Morgan Maclean (charging, 2 min), 18:29; Grande Prairie, Brock Clement (roughing, 2 min) 13:36; Fort St. John, Josh Bennett (roughing, 2 min), 13:36; Fort St. John, Rick Cleave (roughing, 2 min) 7:45; Grande Prairie, Chris Lanoette (roughing, 4 min), 7:45; Grande Prairie, Dennis Rix (crosschecking, 2 min), 7:12; Fort St. John, Daylen Pearson (high sticking, 2 min), 3:59.

3rd Period

Scoring — Fort St. John, Tanner LeSann (Joey Massingham, Lien Miller-Jeannotte), 16:36; Grande Prairie, Blane Clement (Mackenzie Caron, Dennis Rix), powerplay, 15:39; Grande Prairie, Dennis Rix (Mark Stogan), 13:05; Fort St. John, Jordan Gies (Steven Fast, Robbie Sidhu), 9:38; Grande Prairie, Chris Lanoette (Morgan Maclean), 5:35.

Penalties — Grande Prairie, Brock Clement (too many men, 2 min); 18:42; Fort St. John, Robbie Sidhu (interference, 2 min) 16:10.

Goal (saves/shots) — Fort St. John, Travis McLean (30/35); Grande Prairie, Kieran Smiley (24/30)

© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus
Sign Up for our Newsletter!

Popular News