SCOREBOARD: Fort St. John Senior Flyers 8, Manning Comets 0

The Fort St. John Flyers played their second great game of the week in an 8-0 blowout over the Manning Comets at home. The Flyers controlled the game from start to finish, as goalie Ty Gullickson faced only 25 shots in a shutout win.

“It was a good game, and it’s nice to have a full bench. We had a game plan and the guys stuck to it and had a good result,” said Flyers Coach Andrew Leriger. “The structure in our zone was much better, we kept (Manning) to the outside and only allowed perimeter shots.”

article continues below

Rick Cleaver led the way with three goals and two assists, with Adam Horst having a five-point night of his own, all assists. Lien Miller Jeannotte chipped in a goal and two assists and Brandon Pfeil scored twice.

“It was nice to get all four lines going. Everyone got to touch the puck, and it’s nice to have one of those games where it’s not super close down to the wire,” Cleaver said.

The Flyers host the first-place Dawson Creek Senior Canucks on Thursday, Dec. 20 at 8:30 p.m. 


Manning Comets at Fort St. John Senior Flyers 

Saturday, December 15, 2018, 8:30 p.m., North Peace Arena

1st Period

Scoring — Fort St. John, Rick Cleaver (Joey Massingham, Adam Horst) 9:56; Fort St. John, Rick Cleaver (Adam Horst, Liam Miller-Jeannotte) 0:29.

Penalties — Manning, Jarod Lorencz (interference, 2 min.) 14:45; Fort St. John, Layne Stopanski (too many men, 2 min.) 3:02.

2nd Period

Scoring — Fort St. John, Joey Massingham (Adam Horst, Rick Cleaver) 19:15; Fort St. John, Jordan Gies (Tanner LeSann, Reid Campbell) 18:37.

Penalties — Manning, Brett Nicholson (tripping, 2 min.) 15:09; Fort St. John, Rick Cleaver (high sticking, 2 min.) 8:03; Manning, Tyler Dillmon (boarding, 2 min.) 7:30; Fort St. John, Josh Bennett (fighting, game misconduct, 5 min.) 4:16; Manning, Dalton Ducharme (fighting, game misconduct) 4:16; Manning, Jake Jacobesen (tripping, 2 min.) 4:16; Fort St. John, Reid Campbell (cross check, 2 min.) 2:29.

3rd Period

Scoring — Fort St. John, Brandon Pfeil (Rick Cleaver, Adam Horst) 19:37; Fort St. John, Lien Miller-Jeannotte (Jordan Gies, Jeff Shipton) 15:01; Fort St. John, Rick Cleaver (Adam Horst, Sam Brennan) 12:09; Fort St. John, Brandon Pfeil (Lien Miller-Jeannotte, Tanner LeSann) 11:11.

Penalties — Fort St. John, Josh Bennett (elbowing, 2 min.) 14:32; Fort St. John, Redic Campbell (interference, 2 min.) 12:04; Dawson Creek, Colin Mathieson (slashing, 2 min.) 10:13.


Goal (saves/shots) — Fort St. John, Ty Gullickson (25/25); Manning, Braden Gamble (36/44)

Powerplay — Fort St. John (0/5); Manning (0/4)

© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus
Sign Up for our Newsletter!

Popular News