SCOREBOARD (Game 2) : Fort St. John Huskies 6, County of Grande Prairie Kings 3

The Fort St. John Huskies were on the road Saturday night, and took it to the Count of Grande Prairie Kings in Game 2, winning 6-3. The Kings scored the first goal of the game 34 seconds in, but the Huskies tied it up seven minutes later and didn't trail for the rest of the game. 

Brady Marzocco and Geoff Dick both led the team with two goals each. Jonathan Bateman was solid, stopping 24 of the 27 shots he faced, but where the Huskies really impressed was on special teams. They scored on two out of three powerplay chances and didn't allow a powerplay goal against. On the series, the Huskies are three for eight with the man advantage and haven't allowed a powerplay goal against on seven chances.

article continues below

The two teams have a short turnaround as Game 3 of the NWJHL Final goes today at the North Peace Arena at 2 p.m.


Game Two:  Fort St. John Huskies at County of Grande Prairie JDA Kings

Saturday, March 16, 2019, 8:00 p.m., Crosslink County Sportsplex, Grande Prairie

1st Period

Scoring — Grande Prairie, Jeremy Niven (Jacob Begin, Grant Yee) 0:34; Fort St. John, Dean Whitcomb (Jared Winkel) 8:47; Fort St. John, Oscar Burgess (Matthew Apsassin, Dean Whitcomb) 12:33.

Penalties — Fort St. John, Dean Whitcomb (Cross-checking, 2 Min.) 4:31; Grande Prairie, Jeremy Niven (Slashing, 2 Min.) 8:47.

2nd Period

Scoring — Fort St. John, Brady Marzocco (Ivan Jasbec, Jared Winkel) 2:00; Fort St. John, Geoff Dick (Gary Loewen, Jared Loewen) powerplay, 5:10; Grande Prairie, Blake Gillingham (Austin Hrehoruk) 7:03; Grande Prairie, Louka Richard (Jacob Begin) 13:19.

Penalties — Grande Prairie, Tyler Bueckert (Cross-checking, 2 Min.) 3:49; Fort St. John, Oscar Burgess (Checking From Behind, 2 Min., Game Misconduct) 10:41; Fort St. John, Jared Loewen (Hooking, 2 Min.) 14:33; Grande Prairie, Justin Rudyk (Unsportsmanlike Conduct, 2 Min.) 17:33; Fort St. John, Aiden Tegart (Unsportsmanlike Conduct, 2 Min.) 17:33.

3rd Period

Scoring — Fort St. John, Geoff Dick (Gary Loewen, Brady Marzocco) powerplay, 4:50; Fort St. John, Brady Marzocco (Gary Loewen, Matthew Apsassin) empty net, 18:03.

Penalties — Grande Prairie, Tyler Bueckert (Hooking, 2 Min.) 1:05; Grande Prairie, Cody Friesen (Hooking, 2 Min.) 3:35; Fort St. John, Dean Whitcomb (Tripping, 2 Min.) 7:20; Grande Prairie, Jaiden LaPorte (Roughing, 2 Min.) 11:24; Fort St. John, Matthew Apsassin (Holding, 2 Min.) 11:24; Fort St. John, Aiden Tegart (Slashing, 2 Min.).


Powerplay — Fort St. John (2/3); Grande Prairie (0/5)

Goal (saves/shots) — Fort St. John, Jonathan Bateman (24/27); Grande Prairie, Will McCreight (30/35)

© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus
Alaska Highway People's Choice 2020

Popular News