SCOREBOARD (Game 7) : Fort St. John Huskies 3, North Peace Navigators 0

Right from the first puck drop in Game 7 today, it was clear the Fort St. John Huskies came to play their A-game. Though they didn’t score in the first, the Huskies outshot the North Peace Navigators 18-7 in the period, and each period unfolded the same way. The Huskies eventually broke the tie late in the second period, and went on to win 3-0, and advance to the NWJHL Final for the second straight season.

In the process, the Huskies played their three best games of the series in three nights (winning the last two).

article continues below

“It goes back to the loss at home (in Game 5) where we hung 56 shots. We just worried about finding our own game, and once we found it we were hard to play against and just a solid effort from everyone in this series,” said Huskies Coach Todd Alexander.

Gary Loewen, the league’s leading scorer, came up huge in this game, recording a goal and two assists. Jonathan Bateman stopped all 15 shots he faced for the shutout win, and allowed only four goals combined in his four wins. All three Huskies goals today came on the powerplay, while the team didn’t allow a powerplay goal for the second straight game.

The Huskies will be back on the ice practicing tomorrow for the final, which hasn’t yet been scheduled. The County of Grande Prairie Kings are currently leading the Dawson Creek Junior Canucks 3-1 late in Game 7 of the other semi-final.


Game Seven: North Peace Navigators at Fort St. John Huskies

Sunday, March 10, 2019, 2:00 p.m., North Peace Arena, Fort St. John

1st Period

Scoring — No scoring. 

Penalties — North Peace, Calvin Sanders (cross check, 2 min.) 10:09; Fort St. John, Aiden Craig-Steele (tripping, 2 min.) 1:55.

2nd Period

Scoring — Fort St. John, Gary Loewen (Matthew Apsassin) powerplay, 3:12.

Penalties — Fort St. John, Aiden Tegart (slashing, 2 min.) 19:33; North Peace, Theo Cunningham (roughing, 2 min.) 17:42; North Peace, Daniel Noskey (interference, 2 min.) 4:36.

3rd Period

Scoring — Fort St. John, Jared Loewen (Gary Loewen, Geoff Dick) powerplay, 5:33; Fort St. John, Jared Winkel (Geoff Dick, Gary Loewen) powerplay, 4:08.

Penalties — Fort St. John, Dean Whitcomb (holding the stick, 2 min.) 12:39; North Peace, Kevin Schlack (cross check, 2 min.) 6:07; North Peace, Justin Becher (checking from behind, game misconduct, 2 min., 10 min.) 4:55; North Peace, Robert Lemay (roughing, 2 min.) 3:15; Fort St. John, Alex Nimmo (roughing, 2 min.) 0:41; North Peace, Roger Supernault (boarding, game misconduct, 5 min., 10 min.) 0:41; North Peace, Robert Lemay (roughing, 2 min.) 0:41.


Powerplay — Fort St. John (3/6); North Peace (0/3)

Goal (saves/shots) — Fort St. John, Jonathan Bateman (15/15); North Peace, Ryan Noble (48/51)

© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus