SCOREBOARD: Grande Prairie Athletics 6, Fort St. John Senior Flyers 3

In the end, the Fort St. John Flyers third-period collapse in Game Four proved to be too much to come back from. The Flyers managed to keep the game scoreless after the first period, but the Athletics scored three straight goals to start the second and really controlled the game from there, beating the Flyers 6-3 and knocking them out of the playoffs.

Grande Prairie fired 49 shots on the Fort St. John goal, as Travis McLean was eventually pulled for Ty Gullickson. The Flyers couldn't match that effort, getting just 29 shots on net. Fort St. John did have 15 skaters plus two goalies, but in the end were still short of a full bench.

article continues below

It's a disappointing way for the Flyers season to end, though not a particularly surprising one. The Flyers will now have a month-long break, until the Coy Cup begins on March 26.

Grande Prairie will go on to play the Falher Pirates in the semi-final, while Dawson Creek awaits the winner of the series between the Manning Comets and Grimshaw Huskies. The Comets currently have a 3-2 series lead. 


Fort St. John Flyers at Grande Prairie Athletics  

Game Five

Thursday, February 14, 2019, 8:30 p.m., Grande Prairie

1st Period

Scoring — No scoring.

Penalties — Grande Prairie, Dennis Rix (high-sticking, 2 min.) 3:19; Grande Prairie, Chris Lanoette (cross-checking, 2 min.) 4:39; Fort St. John, James Walsh (hooking, 2 min.) 10:12.

2nd Period

Scoring — Grande Prairie, Sheldon McArthur (Devin Bell, Darion Fay) 1:48; Grande Prairie, Devin Bell (Darion Fay, Tyrell Mason) 8:39; Grande Prairie, Mark Stojan (Braden Crone, Lynden Lewis) 9:44; Fort St. John, Jaxon Glass (Rylan Sideroff, Joey Massingham) 11:07; Fort St. John, Clayton Bahm (Lien Miller-Jeannotte, Robbie Sidhu) 12:05; Grande Prairie, Tanner Labbe (Braden Crone) 17:46.

Penalties — Grande Prairie, Sam Bosek (spearing, 4 min.) 15:04; Fort St. John, Reid Campbell (interference, 2 min.) 16:22.

3rd Period

Scoring — Fort St. John, Reid Campbell (Adam Horst, Rick Cleaver) powerplay, 10:38; Grande Prairie, Tyrell Mason (Dennis Rix) 18:53; Grande Prairie, Darion Fay (Blake Clement) 19:13.

Penalties — Grande Prairie, Lynden Lewis (slashing, 2 min.) 9:37; Fort St. John, Reid Campbell (tripping, 2 min.) 14:57; Fort St. John, Lien Miller-Jeannotte (misconduct) 18:53; Fort St. John, Layne Stopanski (slashing, 2 min.) 19:52; Grande Prairie, Tyrone Kipling (unsportsmanlike, 2 min.) 19:52; Grande Prairie, Chris Lanoette (roughing, 2 min., misconduct) 19:54.


Goal (saves/shots) — Fort St. John, Travis McLean/ Ty Gullickson (43/49); Grande Prairie, Kiefer Smiley (26/29)

Powerplay — Fort St. John (1/6); Grande Prairie (0/2)

© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus
Sign Up for our Newsletter!

Popular News