SCOREBOARD: Sexsmith Vipers 6, Fort St. John Huskies 5

The Fort St. John Huskies have slipped back down to .500 after a 6-5 loss Friday night to the Vipers in Sexsmith.

Jared Winkel led the way with two goals. Chase London, Gary Loewen, and Dean Whitcomb added the others.

article continues below

While the Huskies opened the scoring just two minutes into the game, on London’s goal, it was a case of catch-up the rest of the night.

Some physical play in the opening period also resulted in game misconducts being handed out to the Huskies’ Connor Kindrat and Viper Payton Lappenbush.

Fort St. John’s Gary Loewen scored the only powerplay goal of the night.

The Huskies outshot the Vipers 50-31.

They’ll have a chance to improve on their 2-2 record when they take on the County of Grande Prairie Kings Saturday night at 8 p.m. at the North Peace Arena.

Fort St. John Huskies at Sexsmith Vipers
Friday, October 4, 2019, 8:00 p.m., Sexsmith Arena

1st Period

Scoring — Fort St. John, Chase London (Cayden Frenette) 2:13; Sexsmith, Tanner Vinck (Jordan Bartlett, Thomas Lavalley) 5:23; Sexsmith, Justin Doucette (Wyatt Collins), 7:39; Fort St. John, Jared Winkel (Logan Kimmie, Connor Kindrat) 8:09; Sexsmith, Payton Lappenbush (Ty Deleeuw) 11:40.
Penalties — Fort St. John, Connor Kindrat (roughing, 2 Min.) 16:22; Fort St. John, Connor Kindrat (misconduct, 10 min) 16:22; Sexsmith, Payton Lappenbush (roughing, 2 min) 16:22; Sexsmith, Payton Lappenbush (misconduct, 10 min) 16:22; Fort St. John, Jared Winkel (spearing, 4 min) 19:55; Fort St. John, Jared Winkel (slashing, 2 min) 19:55.

2nd Period

Scoring — Sexsmith, Larry Yellowknee (Mikal Chalifoux, Hunter Wells) 1:07; Sexsmith, Jordan Bartlett (Thomas Lavalley, Wyatt Collins) 3:08; Sexsmith, Mikal Chalifoux (Jonas Smith, Clint Lefley) 3:52; Fort St. John, Gary Loewen (Logan Kimmie, Jared Loewen) powerplay, 15:14; Jared Winkel (Jared Loewen, Gary Loewen) 18:36.
Penalties — Fort St. John, Logan Kimmie (cross checking, 2 min) 1:07; Sexsmith, Thayne Schur-Auger (tripping, 2 min) 7:06; Sexsmith, Clint Lefley (roughing, 2 min) 13:20; Sexsmith, Jace Grant (elbowing, 2 min) 14:24.

3rd Period

Scoring — Fort St. John, Dean Whitcomb (Jared Winkel) 9:26.
Penalties — Sexsmith, Thomas Lavalley (tripping, 2 min) 17:38.

Powerplay — Fort St. John (1/4); Sexsmith (0/3)
Goal — Fort St. John, Jacob Romanowski (15/21); Fort St. John, Tyler McArthur (10/10); Sexsmith, Tyson Walker (45/50).

© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus
Sign Up for our Newsletter!

Popular News