Taylor Speedway crosses the finish line

The 2020 Taylor Speedway season went out with a bang last weekend. Despite being limited in what it could do by the pandemic all year long, the Speedway executive and volunteers found a way to host all four classes over three full nights of racing, July 31 to August 2, for the IMCA Modified Invitational.

The Speedway previously held two other events on the season, each split across two weekends, with two classes running each weekend. As the summer went along, holding these no-fan, coronavirus-era events became familiar, and they were able to space the classes and races out, limiting the amount of people at the track and pits at any one time.

article continues below

“We really made the most of it this year, got a lot of racing in and the year went well considering everything that’s going on,” said Speedway President Kelly Hildebrand. “We were fortunate to not go in the hole at all this season — it helps that we own our own track.”

On the season, the Taylor Speedway held three of its usual five events, but raced on five weekends, making it the only local sports organizations able to have anything close to a full and normal season.

“We have about 55 members. At our meeting at the beginning of the year, everyone of them showed up, and they all said they wanted to race and were willing to do what it takes,” Hildebrand said.

Here are the results from the weekend:

IMCA Invitational Championship
1. Johnny Beaumont
2. Dean Bell
3. Aaron Tubbs
4. Al Scarfo

Friday, July 31

Mini Stock Adults
1. Richard Hildebrand
2. Jesse Wassenaar
3. Clint Mason

IMCA Modifieds
1. Johnny Beaumont
2. John Stokes
3. Dean Bell
4. Dennis Wurst

1. Matt Burdock
2. Grayson Sparks
3. Camryn Beaumont

Mini Stock Junior
1. Delani Bulley
2. Cody Willis
3. Braxton Bigfoot

Saturday, August 1

IMCA Modifieds
1. Johnny Beaumont
2. Dean Bell
3. Dennis Wurst
4. Aaron Tubbs 

Mini Stock Adult
1. Clint Mason
2. Jamie Legal
3. Jesse Wassenaar

1. Justin Tackaberry
2. Matt Burdock
3. Swain Hackman

Mini Stock Junior
1. Cody Willis
2. Chase Skoreyko
3. Anthony Seguin

Sunday, August 2

IMCA Modifieds
1. Johnny Beaumont
2. Aaron Tubbs
3. Al Scarfo
4. Jason Westgate

1. Swain Hackman
2. Devon Beebe
3. Matt Burdock

Mini Stock Junior
1. Braxton Bigfoot
2. Cody Willis
3. Eddie Scarfo

Mini Stock Adult
1. Clint Mason
2. Jamie LEgal
3. Richard Hildebrand

Email sports reporter Dillon Giancola at sports@ahnfsj.ca

© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus

Popular News