Drag Racing season heats up at Northern Lights Raceway

It was another perfect weekend for drag racing at the Northern Lights Speedway on Saturday, June 14 and Sunday, June 15. The sun was shining and nearly 100 competitors crowded the pits for the second race of the season.

President of the Fort St. John Drag Racing Association Dale Phillips said the turnout at the track continues to surprise him race after race.

"It was the second race, the weather is cooperating, it should be another good day. The track has lots of traction, the guys are happy. We have lots of cars today," Phillips said before the bracket races got underway Saturday.

There was some serious mojo following with gorgeous conditions and it led to Dawson Creek native Dale Pedersen breaking the track record at 6.494 seconds and 226.43 miles per hour. Pedersen had a successful second run at approximately the same speed and time to secure the record. Track spokesperson Bryan Bates said in an email he was "happy to see the record fall to a local racer".

Father's Day also brought plenty of spectators to the track along with the large collection of racers who have been participating as families for generations.

"It's huge, absolutely huge," Phillips said of the family atmosphere around the track. "I worked for two weeks on my daughters car and she is out there for the first time If you walk around the pits you see a lot of families. The old story is a family that races together stays together We call it our second family."

One of those families is the Fedderly family, who has several generations of racers that come out to the track in Fort St. John.

On Saturday and Sunday in the junior category it was Mikayla Fedderly who was the big winner. The runner-up on Saturday was Chase Liwiski and Sunday was Devon Kowaksi.

In the Pure Street category Kevin Wiebe was the winner and Mitchell Parker was the runner-up. The Pure Street Sunday winner was Ryan Varga and the runner-up was Ben Rafter.

The NoBox winner on Saturday was Andy Closkey, and the runner up was Bobby Bailey. Bailey grabbed some revenge on Sunday winning the NoBox races and Warren Hillis was second.

In the box races on Sunday Darrell Toews was the big winner followed by Cody Liwiski. Liwiski snagged some retribution on Sunday winning the box category, with Jason Miller a close second.

Sean Stadley won the Bike/Sled race on Saturday and Sherry Fry was the runner-up. Bruce Romak was first on Sunday with Dave Moore coming in as the runner-up.

Phillips is also looking ahead to an event later this summer on July 11-13, where he believes there will be some serious competition and where more records could fall.

"There will be guys in the six second area and close to 200 miles an hour in some of the top dragsters. It's going to be a really exciting weekend I think everybody should put that on their schedule," Phillips said.

article continues below
© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus
Alaska Highway People's Choice 2019
Sign Up for our Newsletter!

Popular News