Figure skaters wrap up season with awards

The Fort St. John Figure Skating Club held its awards night and wrap-up banquet at the Legion Hall on Saturday, April 20 to celebrate another successful season.

PreCan, Canskate, CanAcademy, Group A and Group B all came together with coaches, volunteers and parents to put on the potluck banquet, which was followed by awards and a family dance.

article continues below

The following skaters were given awards or recognitions on Saturday night:

PreCanskate Award - Peyton Elliot.

Canskate Award - Haley Loewen.

CanAcademy of the Year - Addison Stone.

Energizer Bunny Award - Jessie Kosick, Shaye Peebles, Tyneesha Fehr, Courtney Martens, Kimberly Martens,Brittnay Martens, Khayla Oluyede, Gianna Morris, Angelina Morris, Lauren Pomeroy and Sienna Pomeroy.

Skater's Choice Award, Group A - Emma Shipalesky and Jollian Stone. Group B - Kirstyn Beech.

Most Improved Primary Runner Up - Sophie Stevens, Emma Taylor, Haley Patterson, Jillian Stone and Gloria Loewen.

Most Improved Primary - Ashlyn Goertzen, Emma Shipalesky, Jaidyn Goertzen.

Most Improved Intermediate Runner Up - Mairyn Dumanowski.

Most Improved Intermediate - Shaya Jeffery, Mykenzie Beech, Emma Stevens.

Most Improved Senior Runner Up - Georgia Dawkin.

Most Improved Senior - Kirstyn Beech.

Year Round Most Improved -Mairyn Dumanowski.

Year Round Competition Award - Georgia Dawkin.

Most Sportsmanlike Skater - Kirstyn Beech, Georgia Dawkin.

Jean Gardner Memorial Award - Carlee Shenton.

Jr. Sports Council Award - Whitney Jarratt.

Kids Arena Legacy Award - Mykenzie Beech.

Super Series Final Winners - Kirstyn Beech, 3rd Overall Winner, Sr. Bronze Women in B.C. Shaya Jeffery, 1st Intro Interpretive. Whitney Jarratt, 1st Gold Interpretive. Georgia Dawkin, 1st Silver Interpretive. Kirstyn Beech, 3rd Sr. Bronze Women. Carlee Shenton, 3rd Gold Interpretive. Mykenzie Beech, 3rd Intro Interpretive.

Gold Achievement Awards - Whitney Jarratt (Gold Freeskate & Gold Skills), Kirstyn Beech (Gold Skills), Georgia Dawkin (Gold Interpretive).

Debbie Dillabough Volunteer Award - Tyral Burnett, Tammy Beech, Desiree Stevens, Pam Jarratt, Molly Maddison.

The Fort St. John Figure Skating Club would like to congratulate all of its award recipients as well as thank the parents and volunteers who helped out over the 2012/2013 season.

© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus
Sign Up for our Newsletter!

Popular News