Haugan wins championship race

Tate Haugan pulled off a stunning upset Sunday to win the Blizzard Bike Club's Championship Road race. He broke away on the last hill at the last minute to win the 50 km Montney loop race in a time of 1:32:47 hours, just eleven seconds ahead of George Gamble.

Nicki and Chris Haugan were third and fourth at 1:34:37. Roger St. Jean edged out Francis Plum of Calgary for 5th at 1:43:52. Gary Hilderman was 7th at 1:47:00 and Pat Ferris 8th at 1:50:21. Sam Keats had 59:55 for the one lap race.

Jamie Gamble had 51:20 for the 16 km distance. Ken Nix edged out Ken Lane to win the 20k race at 51:15.

Next up for the club is the Cactus mountain bike race on Wednesday at 7 pm. Thursday will be the usual Baldonnel time trial, also getting underway at 7 pm. Sunday will be the Fort St. John triathlon.

article continues below
© Copyright Alaska Highway News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Alaska Highway News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus
Alaska Highway People's Choice 2020

Popular News